More experiments with the colour wheel using different medias

I am getting used to the effects of acrylics and so to have a formal study of the colour mixing  would prove useful at this stage. I took the primary colours through from one colour to the next. I had problems mixing purples and violets which were very quickly turning to browns and often needed a touch of  third colour! This may be easier as I accumulate more of the commercial colour tones.

browns and purples
browns and purples.
dry brushes mixing colours
dry brushes mixing colours

I made quick studies of soft/oil pastels and wax crayons. I hope to come back to more detailed studies breaking down the tones to include a variety of saturation levels. The pastels blend well and this may prove useful as I enjoy working with the blendable media.

pastels and wax crayons
pastels and wax crayons

Leave a comment