The limpets shell revisited

Oh how I do love shells. from the previous work in project one I think you guessed that. An opportunity within this exercise meant I could work a sample using different threads and yarns to create texture. I do find it hard to separate all the elements these exercises demand. They all correlate. The shell would lend itself brilliantly to this exercise. With shiny and rougher, matt even  dull areas and flecks and blocks of directional colour and texture. How could I resist. Using the viewing frame to focus my attention on a small area i choose a textural study this time to work from. One that was a little more abstract. It focussed on the colour elements, horizontal curves and vertical lines. It offered both shiny and matt areas having been worked originally in wax resists and acrylic washes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It offered possibilities to incorporate some more unusual materials such as vhs tape and hand spun yarn from rose fibres. Using my trusted 21st century threads to blend the subtle tones and incorporate the contemporary element too. I found two potential fabrics but decided on the grey wool. It suited the texture I wanted to create and had subtle markings with black flecks ideal for the colours of my shell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Although it was time consuming to build up the layers using satin stitch offered so much scope for variations and inclusions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I twisted the vhs tape into a twine and couched it down then incorporated it into the sating stitch to achieve a more flecky result, more subtle. The rose fibre was incorporated by satin stitch but then further worked in using the silks. It offered softer textures against the hard lines of circular demarkation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment